Why is wine not naturally vegan?

Updated: Jun 11, 2020

Whenever I present vegan wine, one of the first replies I'm often met with is "wait, wine isn't vegan??". As many may not consider, the wine making process is a very long and complicated one, with more traditional methods involving animal-based products that prevent their wines from being categorised as vegan.

One such addition to the wine method resulting in this is the straining method of the grapes involved, which can be done using fish bones; prior to the invention of the modern sediment filter, the most precise device that sommeliers could acquire was the rack of bones acquired from small fish. Many older vineyards carry on this tradition, meaning that their produce cannot be considered vegan.

This process is currently only still adopted by vineyards that predate the sediment filter, however, the more common factor resulting in many wines not being considered vegan is the addition of thinning agents, which often contain gluten that has been extracted from animal fats. Not a very nice thought, I know, but without this addition, the texture of wine would become thicker over time preventing the long-term storage of vintages. Non-animal based thinning agents do exist, but they are expensive and in short supply, meaning that a vineyard must become highly committed to minimising their usage of non-vegan production methods.

While we cannot guarantee that all of our products are vegan here at Vino Fine, those that are known to be vegan are labelled as such on our shop.

To explore our range of dealcoholised wines and dealcoholised sparkling wines, visit our store at and have our wines delivered straight to your door.

Low-alcohol wine on a wall-mounted rack
Low-alcohol wine in a wall-mounted rack

17 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All